During class this semester we watched the movie Food In. as an introduction to our next project for this semester.  We were given a bunch of question to answer and we had to choose 3 from the sheet and respond to them.

Number 9

     I feel as if eating healthy should be a responsibility.  The reason I feel this way is because eating healthy is something that people take on themselves, it doesn't generally just happen.  Most people blame their weight on everyone but themselves.  People do not take responsibility for what they are putting into their bodies.  Eating healthy takes time.  I have grown to be a lot more aware of what I am putting into my body.  Growing up I used to not care, I would eat McDonalds and fast food all of the time because it was quick, cheap, easily accessible, and it as already prepared.  I did not have to worry about cooking, 
     I could pull up and within seconds it was already in my mouth.  Now being more conscious of what goes into my body, it takes more thought.  I have taken responsibility for what I eat and how the food I eat makes me feel.  When I eat crappy food, I feel sick after because my body has grown accustomed to eating healthier.

Number 16

    Yes, I feel that if the cost of healthier food were to decline instead of rise then what it generally does do then people would definitely buy more of it.  When was the last time you saw healthy almonds on sale?  But you see chips and pretzels on sale nearly every week at the food store. It seems as if the healthier the food is, the more expensive it is.  If we made the price of healthy food as cheap as the junk food, people would be able to also take more responsibility for their weight.  People wouldn't be able to make up the excuse that healthy food is not something that they are able to afford. 

Number 17

  I think that people would most definitely make better choices if they knew what they were eating.  When I first started watching what I was eating, at first I had absolutely no idea what I was doing.  I thought okay a salad is great there’s nothing wrong with that, sure that’s fine but add on the additional dressing and that can add an additional 150 calories to a meal. I began counting calories and writing down everything that I ate and drank.  Before I knew it I was consuming way more calories than I needed.  It does take a lot of work but once you memorize calories in foods it becomes a lot easier to prepare healthier meals.




Leave a Reply.