This week’s blog posts by Michael Pollen "Omnivore's Dilemma" and Wendell Berry's
"The Pleasures of Eating" are transitioning us into our second assignment of the semester and giving a slight inside for the movie Food Inc that we will be watching in class.  In Michael Pollen's article it kind of made me think a little bit as to where some food comes from and how they get it the way that they do throughout processing. I am generally pretty conscious as to what I eat. I usually spend the extra couple dollars and shop at Whole Foods to get the organic foods.

               Before I started seeing a nutritionist and working out as much as I do I would eat fast food all the time. Then I realized how processed it is and it doesn't break down like it should, making it just sits in the body (grossssss). Needless to say it has been about 4 years since I've been through a McDonalds, Burger King, or any other fast food chain.  

     Pollen states that many people today seem perfectly content eating at the end of an industrial food chain, without a thought in the world; this book is probably not for them. There are things in it that will ruin their appetites. But in the end this is a book about the pleasures of eating, the kinds of pleasure that are only deepened by knowing. Years ago I would have probably said who cares if it tastes good and is covered with sodium I don't care, I’m eating this.

      Wendell Berry's article I really enjoyed to read. It also made me think more about farming. Berry made a point that got my mind to think when this was stated “And this peculiar specialization of the act of eating is, again, of obvious benefit to the food industry, which has good reasons to obscure the connection between food and farming. It would not do for the consumer to know that the hamburger she is eating came from a steer who spent much of his life standing deep in his own excrement in a feedlot, helping to pollute the local streams, or that the calf that yielded the veal cutlet on her plate spent its life in a box in which it did not have room to turn around.” This made me think, where does it come from, what farm was it on, and what chemicals if any am I ingesting, although its organic food does it really mean it is, and who is monitoring this food making sure it is safe to eat where I won't get sick.

       Food Inc is a movie I am looking forward to watching. I can't wait to see what type of information I can get out of this.



Leave a Reply.